Wednesday, 8th September 2010

151.im, 121.im Facebook Phishing Scams

Posted on 14. May, 2009 by rubber chicken in Lifestyle, Tech

facebookphishing 151.im, 121.im Facebook Phishing ScamsHere’s a good rule of thumb: If you get a message or email from someone – whether you know them or not – and it has some weird-ass subject line or attachment, DO NOT OPEN IT. If the subject just says “Hello” and has a link, DON’T CLICK ON IT.

 

The latest phishing scam hitting the Facebook community comes in the form of the latter example. Messages are titled “Hello,” but if you open them, they take you to sites with names like 151.im and 121.im. When you navigate to these sites, you will find an exact replica of the Facebook login page. Once you put in your name and password, the damage has been done. The phishers can now access all your information and begin sending similar phishing messages to your friends.

 

So please, gentle readers, practice safe clicking. If you don’t recognize a sender or a message looks fishy/phishy, delete it. If it really was from a friend, they’ll write back.

Tell your friends you saw it on EPK:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Fark
  • TwitThis
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • MySpace
  • email
  • LinkedIn

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.